11 Web Page Sections Of HTML 5

13 04 2011

Just in case you aren’t keeping up with the developments in HTML 5, I thought I’d share with you the current definitions of 11 sections of a web page document. They’re simple, but I think they are essential to understanding where HTML 5 is going to take us.

  1. Body Element – Just as in HTML 4, the Body element defines the body of a web page.
  2. Section Element – New to HTML 5, the section element defines a specific section of a body element on a web page.
  3. Nav Element – Also new to HTML 5, is a specific section of a web page that defines the navigation of a website, providing links to other pages on that site.
  4. Article Element – Another new feature of HTML with version 5. This is a self-contained element containing content that is independently re-usable or able to be syndicated.
  5. Aside Element – Continuing with new HTML 5 features, an Aside element is akin to a sidebar in print. It is content that is not related to the main content on the page and therefore is separate.
  6. H-tag Elements – Section headings.
  7. Hgroup Element – Groups H tags of a single section into one element. New to HTML 5.
  8. Header Element – Defines a web page’s header.
  9. Footer Element – Defines a web page’s footer.
  10. Address Element – Defines the contact information for the nearest Article or Body element author.

HTML 5 has a lot of new features not currently defined in HTML 4. I think they are generally an improvement and I look forward to future HTML 5 developments as they are rolled out by W3C.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: